Durling Prize Winners

Established in 2016 in memory of Robert M. Durling, professor Italian and English literature at the University of California, Santa Cruz, who was widely recognized for the translation and commentary on Dante's Commedia he published with Ronald Martinez, the Durling Prize recognizes excellence in the teaching of Dante’s life, time, and works by educators working in North American secondary schools. For further information and submission guidelines, please consult our Prizes page.

2023   Catelyn Boze (Q.I. Roberts Jr-Sr High School, Florahome, FL)

2022   Michel de Konkoly Thege (Elisabeth Irwin High School, New York, NY)

2021   Homer L. Twigg IV (DeMatha Catholic High School in Hyattsville, MD)
           and Jennifer Wan (Boston Trinity Academy, Boston, MA)

2020   Terry Quinn (Saint Louis University High School, Saint Louis, MO)

2019   John Hoarty (Saint Ignatius College Prep, Chicago, IL)

2018   Jacob Root (Grace Church School, New York, NY)

2017   Dan Christian (Gilman School, Baltimore, MD)

2016   Barbara Rosenblit (The Weber School, Atlanta, GA)