Honorary Members and Fellows

The Society's by-laws provide for the recognition of "persons distinguished for their interest in the Society's mission or who have rendered valuable services to the Society." Over the years, a number of prominent scholars, particularly scholars outside the United States, have been proposed and elected by Council as "honorary members." In addition, Council has invited writers and artists whose creative work has contributed significantly to the appreciation of Dante to be recognized as "fellows."

Since 2018, Council has also periodically conferred a "distinguished service award" on members who have provided the Society with an extraordinary degree of service over their careers.

Listings of current honorary members, fellows, and recipients of the distinguished service award follow below.

Honorary Members

  • Lucia Battaglia Ricci, Pisa, Italy
  • Piero Boitani, Rome, Italy
  • Patrick Boyde, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Enrico Fenzi, Genoa, Italy
  • John Freccero, New York, New York
  • Nick Havely, York, United Kingdom
  • Reudi Imbach, Paris, France
  • Carlo Ossola, Turin, Italy
  • John A. Scott, Perth, Australia
  • Prue Shaw, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Giorgio Stabile, Rome, Italy
  • Paolo Trovato, Ferrara, Italy
  • Claudia Villa, Bergamo, Italy


  • Roberto Benigni, Rome, Italy
  • Caroline Bergvall, London, England
  • Sandow Birk, Long Beach, California
  • Ron Jenkins, Middletown, Connecticut
  • Tom Phillips, London, United Kingdom

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

  • Richard Lansing, Wellesley, Massachusetts (2019)
  • Christopher Kleinhenz, Madison, Wisconsin (2018)